Author Topic: Simplistic networking question  (Read 278 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Renegade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Gender: Male
Simplistic networking question
« on: May 11, 2021, 08:40:22 AM »
Hello.

I'm fairly confident that I'm about to post the daftest question ever seen on the forum.

We have a BT Broadband router in the General Office.  There are also a number of unused network points in the Office.
If I run an ethernet cable from the router into 1 of these free ports, then go to the cabinet, and run an ethernet cable from that point into the uplink of an 8 port hub, will I get internet access?   Not connecting to anything C@rpita switches at all. 

Bring forth the ridicule   :laugh:


Online casper

  • Administrator
  • Board Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.niaviation.co.uk
Re: Simplistic networking question
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2021, 09:00:57 AM »
Yes, I do that all the time.
Northern Ireland Aviation Forum and Gallery
Aviation Photos
I don't think you're stupid, I think what you do is stupid.

Offline Renegade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Gender: Male
Re: Simplistic networking question
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2021, 09:09:43 AM »
Genius! Thank you Casper!

Online casper

  • Administrator
  • Board Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.niaviation.co.uk
Re: Simplistic networking question
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2021, 09:13:03 AM »
One of the switches for our phone system is in the cabinet in my room and I've an old wireless router plugged in to it so I have unfiltered wireless access for my laptop and phone :)
Northern Ireland Aviation Forum and Gallery
Aviation Photos
I don't think you're stupid, I think what you do is stupid.

Offline Renegade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Gender: Male
Re: Simplistic networking question
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2021, 03:09:35 PM »
I liberated a switch from the refresh and looking to do something similar   :laugh: